Extension Question

Hello all and happy new year,
I am relatively new to OpenGl programming (and graphics programming for that matter) and have many questions in regards to extensions that I hope someone could answer.

It is my understanding that in order to program(for Windows) with the features of OpenGl1.2, 1.3 and higher (I guess right now its 1.4), it is necessary to use extensions to access the new features, but how are these functionlities implemented in the card?
For example, say I have a card that is capable of performing hardware acceleration for features of OpenGL 1.3, and then OpenGl 1.4 comes out.
Is it possible to download a driver to make my card compliant to the newest version of OpenGL? If so, how does this work (Would the new features not supported by hardware be implemented through software emulation)? And would this mean that all extensions should work on all cards (either through software emulation or hardware)?

This question came about because I was trying to run a sample demo that used the GL_ARB_fragment_program extension, but was unable to run the program(cool site http://esprit.campus.luth.se/%7ehumus/)..)
I have geForce2 Ultra card on Windows 2000.

I guess another question I have is how to make such a program work with my current card(if possible).
I am not sure if it matters, I’ve downloaded the latest driver from the NVIDIA site and am able to use programs that require OpenGL1.3 extensions (like the NV_vertex_program) or at least I think I am.

Thanks For your help.

You go to your vendors site (the people who produce the GPU or video card) and download drivers, just as you downlaoad drivers for anything else.

If the driver’s say they support GL 1.4
then this means it does (soft or hard)
The extensions list given by the driver are not all extensions. Some are inside 1.4, and even 1.3 or 1.2, or 1.1

ARB_fragment_program is a true extension, meaning it is NOT in 1.4 and nvidia doesn’t have the extension.

Thank you for your help!