optimizing drawing of model

When drawing, I am currently going through the 3ds model’s faces in a for loop and retrieving the vertex data, normals, and uv’s. Some of this data is shared (like the vertices). This is very, very slow. :frowning:

Should I pre-process this data and duplicate the vertices, normals, etc. so that I can draw it using Vertex arrays? Is that how it is usually done? It seems like this would defeat the purpose of the 3ds file reusing vertices since I would be duplicating a lot of data for my arrays.

I’m new to OpenGL too, but I’m writing a generic engine for myself ATM…
basically what I did was making three classes:

A Vector/Vertex class
A Plane class
and an Object class

The object class holds three vectors (the container VECTOR, as in #include <vector> )
One Vector holds the plane objects and one vector holds the vertexes. The last one holds 2D coordinates for texture mapping.

The plane class is an array of integers, which contain the INDEXES to the vertexes in the Object class.

So, when I render I first pick my Plane I want to paint, then pick each index, and fetch the right vertex out of the vector…

Plane p;
Vertex v;
int b;

for (as_long_as_we_have_planes; x++)
{
p = PLANE_VECTOR;//get the right plane

glBegin(something);//begin drawing, you might want to set colors/textures too

for (as_long_as_the_plane_has_points; z++)
{
    b = p.INDEX_ARRAY[z];//get the index in out array
    v = VERTEX_VECTOR[b];//get the matching vertex
    glVertex3f(v.x, v.y, v.z);//and paint it
}

glEnd();//we stop painting here...

}

In the Plane object I also stored the normal-vector for lighting, indexes for 2D texture mapping as well as information for texturing and coloring.
I do all intesive calculations when loading the model, like normal calculations.

You might want to choose for another container than a Vector for storing the data. I chose for a vector because it is variable in size, and is easilly accessible while still being reasonably fast.