next up previous contents index
Next: Arithmetic on Components Up: 3.6 Pixel Rectangles Previous: Conversion to Fragments

3.6.4 Pixel Transfer Operations


The GL defines four kinds of pixel groups:

  1. RGBA component: Each group comprises four color components: red, green, blue, and alpha.
  2. Depth component: Each group comprises a single depth component.
  3. Color index: Each group comprises a single color index.
  4. Stencil index: Each group comprises a single stencil index.
Each operation described in this section is applied sequentially to each pixel group in an image. Many operations are applied only to pixel groups of certain kinds; if an operation is not applicable to a given group, it is skipped. Future versions of GL may define additional pixel transfer operations.

David Blythe
Sat Mar 29 02:23:21 PST 1997