How to implement large amount of viewport array?

I am a newbie in OpenGL.
Recently facing a problem: I want to split a 4K display window into 8*10=80 viewports array, each viewport displays a unique viewing angle of the 3D scene.
Large size image and large number of viewports.
Is there some efficient way to implement it?
Thank a lot for your help!

Usually just start by making the first window… then the 2nd… then the next, and by the time you’ve made probably the 2nd window, you’ll have already figured out how to optimally make 80 windows.

I’m not even kidding, this is how I figure stuff out sometimes…and if it doesn’t come to me right away, at least approaching the problem and trying to work through it, makes it stick in my head until I figure it out.

Jeff

With OpenGL 4.1 or the ARB_viewport_array extension, it’s possible to render to multiple viewports in a single draw call (glViewportIndexed/glViewportArray, gl_ViewportIndex). However, this requires the use of a geometry shader, which usually has a performance cost. It would also require you to determine which viewports each primitive must be rendered to (or render each primitive to every active viewport). And you’d need to transform vertices for each viewport in which they appear. You could move transformation to the geometry shader, but that would mean redundant transformations for shared vertices.

So a naive implementation would probably be less efficient than just rendering the scene to each viewport, while an efficient implementation would be substantially more complex. Also, an implementation isn’t required to support more than 16 active viewports, so you’d still need to use multiple draw calls.