Computing bounds for orthographic proj for directional lights for shadow mapping

I’m new to shadow mapping, and got shadow mapping working with directional lights with some hardcoded values.

Here, I compute the light view matrix, making use of the AA bounding box of the scene. The mid pt of the bbox is chosen as the eye, the target is (or center) is mid_pt + direction, and up direction is always (0, 0, 1). Then I hardcorded the ortho projection to have the bounds (-100, 100, -100, 100, -100, 100). This gives reasonable results, but I want to evaluate everything programatically so that I can get the most reasonable shadows, based on the viewing frustrum, etc.

I’m trying to understand how to determine the ortho proj. programatically. I can multiply the AA box vertices of the scene by the light view matrix. That gives some sort of OBB now in light space. I’m trying to understand now how to get the bounds of the ortho projection from the OBB. How do I do this? I think you can extract, the axis in light space (the new x, y, z in light space), and try to do a projection of the length vectors of the OBB, but that sounds complicated (maybe an easier way to do this that I’m completely missing).

Would love to have an answer from someone who has done this. Also, is the up direction (0, 0, 1) always right? I guess since it’s a directional light, it doesn’t matter (I think).

[QUOTE=mccloud35;1292984]I’m trying to understand how to determine the ortho proj. programatically.
I can multiply the AA box vertices of the scene by the light view matrix.
That gives some sort of OBB now in light space. [/QUOTE]

In the light’s eye-space, yes.

I’m trying to understand now how to get the bounds of the ortho projection from the OBB.
How do I do this?
I think you can extract, the axis in light space (the new x, y, z in light space), and try to do a projection of the length vectors of the OBB, but that sounds complicated (maybe an easier way to do this that I’m completely missing).