Painful Rendering Problem ._.

I’ve been having this odd rendering issue here:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]1638[/ATTACH]
I am not sure what the problem is, because all those missing tris you can see are easily visible depending on the viewing conditions:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]1639[/ATTACH]
Since I’m relatively new to opengl, I cannot diagnose whether this is the result of me missing a simple function call or some larger issue.

Thank you for reading. Any help or input would be appreciated. :slight_smile:

My first guess would be that it’s related to depth testing. Check that the near plane (in gluPerspective, glFrustum, etc) isn’t too close, as that dictates the accuracy of the depth buffer.

As a test, try glDisable( GL_CULL_FACE ). As part of that test, disable lighting and just render triangles with a constant color (easiest).

It looks like like you might have GL_CULL_FACE on “and” you are rendering triangles with an inconsistent winding order (assuming your meshes are not just wholesale “missing” triangles). This means that some of them which should be front-facing are correctly “front-facing”, but the rest which “should” be front-facing are actually “back facing”. Disabling GL_CULL_FACE basically says to the GPU: I don’t care; just render them all regardless. This isn’t the best fix (results in more fill), but it’ll at least let you see if this is your problem. The better fix to this is to leave GL_CULL_FACE enabled and just fix the winding order of the triangle vertices in your mesh. Here’s a wiki page on this: Face Culling (OpenGL Wiki).

Failing that, is it possible that your depth buffer has some left-over trash in it from some previous render? That’s unlikely to be it though. Make sure you are calling glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT ) at the beginning of your frame.

Also verify that you have both depth test and depth writes enabled for both shapes. And that you do have a depth buffer allocated to your render target (it appears that you do).