Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Thread: gl_FragCoord and gl_PointCoord

Intern Contributor

gl_FragCoord and gl_PointCoord

Hey all,

I'm new to OpenGL, and to this forum as well, and I appreciate everyone's kind support, this is a great community!

Anyways, I wanted to ask about these two built in input variables in the fragment shaders: gl_FragCoord and gl_PointCoord.

I have tried to play around with both of them several times, and I don't get anything from either of them. Here's my current fragment shader, and where gl_PointCoord is, I've tried using gl_FragCoord, just to get a vertical stripe on the points (which are size 35 in vertex shader, and they do properly display on-screen as 35x35 squares...!).

Vertex shader:

Code :
    #version 330 core
    layout (location = 0) in vec2 position;
    layout (location = 1) in vec3 color;

out vec3 ourColor;

void main()
    {
        gl_PointSize = 35.0f;
        gl_Position = vec4(position.x, position.y, 0.0f, 1.0f); 
        ourColor = color;
    }

Fragment shader:

Code :
    #version 330 core
    in vec3 ourColor;

out vec4 color;

void main()
    {
        if ( gl_FragCoord.x > 0.4 && gl_FragCoord.x < 0.6 )
        {
            color = vec4(0.0f,0.0f,1.0f,1.0f);
        } else {
            color = vec4(ourColor, 1.0f);
        }
    }

I'm not trying to do anything meaningful, just wanting to experiment and get a feel for these variables, but they are proving to be quite the buggers to even work with them.... any ideas?