Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Total noob, need help installing OpenGL

  1. #1
    Newbie Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    3

    Total noob, need help installing OpenGL

    Hey all,

    I would like to apologize up front for being a total noob. I really don't know what i'm doing. I need OpenGL for Meshmixer and Photoscan to create 3D objects.

    Meshmixer says I don't have OpenGL, and Photoscan says it's using version 1.1.0. I have a Nvidia GTX970 with latest updated graphics drivers.

    I tried for hours looking on the web to install OpenGL, but found just some .dll files etc,.. and no instructions on what to do.

    Could some kind soul please help me?

    Thanks in advanced.

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru Dark Photon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Druidia
    Posts
    4,174
    Quote Originally Posted by OpenGL-Ne View Post
    I have a Nvidia GTX970 with latest updated graphics drivers.

    I tried for hours looking on the web to install OpenGL, but found just some .dll files
    It's unclear. It sounds like you may have the latest NVidia drivers installed, which will give you the latest OpenGL drivers for your card. But just in case not...

    To find the latest NVidia drivers, just websearch "nvidia download" and the the NVidia driver download page will come right up:

    * https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx

    Select your GPU and OS, and it'll give you a download link to the latest NVidia driver installer .EXE (for Windows-based OSs). Download that, run it, and wait for it complete. You'll have the latest NVidia OpenGL drivers installed on your system.

    You can verify this install by running any one of a number of utilities, including glCapsViewer.

  3. #3
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,728
    Have you a laptop with NVIDIA Optimus? This kind of thing can happen in this scenario where the NVIDIA drivers are indeed up to date but the Intel drivers may not be.

  4. #4
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru Dark Photon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Druidia
    Posts
    4,174
    Quote Originally Posted by mhagain View Post
    Have you a laptop with NVIDIA Optimus? This kind of thing can happen in this scenario where the NVIDIA drivers are indeed up to date but the Intel drivers may not be.

    That's a good point. If this is the case, make sure you configure your driver to prefer the NVidia GPU over the Intel GPU:

    * http://www.tomsguide.com/answers/id-...cated-gpu.html

  5. #5
    Newbie Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    3

    Cool

    Got it!!

    I updated the Intel chip-set drivers to the latest ones, and now the programs recognize OpenGL 4.5.

    Thanks for your help guys!


  6. #6
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,728
    From the sound of things, even though you now have your programs working, they may actually be using your Intel GPU rather than your NVIDIA (yes, recent Intels support GL 4.5). I would suggest following the advice of Dark Photon anyway, just to be certain: Intel GPUs are no longer absolutely useless, but they're still not as powerful as a good NVIDIA or AMD.

  7. #7
    Newbie Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    3
    I went to the Manage 3D settings, but the only GPU there is the NVidia GTX970. I must not have an intel GPU,.. I have an Asus X99 Motherboard with a Intel 5960X CPU.

    I was able to render my 3D model that I plan to 3D print, and it was speedy, so I think things are configured correctly.

    Thanks again for the help,.. Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •