Question about rendering transparent texture

Hi everyone, I’m new to OpenGL and have a problem when I try to render a transparent texture of a container with a bunch of smaller boxes.

I added the alpha channel for the transparent texture (cardboard with crossing tapes on) using GIMP and set the alpha value 0.25.

As you can see from the attachment, I got something similar but not good enough. When I turn the view position from the top right corner of the box, the LEFT and BOTTOM sides are not rendered properly, no tapes show up. When I turn the view to the top left corner, then RIGHT and BOTTOM are wrong again.

Could anyone help me please? Any comments/hints/ suggestions would be appreciate! Thank you so much!
[ATTACH=CONFIG]1515[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]1516[/ATTACH]

Is this related to back face culling?

Let me know if that’s the issue.

Jeff

P.S. I might as well put in a shameless plug for my youtube channel, which has some basic opengl and openframeworks tutorials.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzx8alrxVELz5h1dfCdkdfg

[QUOTE=OceanJeff40;1288042]Is this related to back face culling?

Let me know if that’s the issue.

Jeff

P.S. I might as well put in a shameless plug for my youtube channel, which has some basic opengl and openframeworks tutorials.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzx8alrxVELz5h1dfCdkdfg[/QUOTE]

Hi, Thank you for your reply.

I think it may be the problem because the render indices of whichever incorrect rendered side are always reversed because of the orientation of view. How should I solve this question then? I read something about blending and alpha test but not sure how I should use them.

Sort. Render opaque meshes first. Then render you non opaque meshes from back to front (the more far first, the nearest last).

For more information, this tutorial might help you. And this one talks about transparent textures.