Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: rendering an indexed triangle array with vbo

Junior Member Newbie

rendering an indexed triangle array with vbo

Good day to all, i have an array of triangles where each element is an index to a corresponding vertex in a vertex buffer. Now i have uploaded the vbo and ibo into a vao , lets pretend i want to draw only a small set of triangles in a random order, let's say i want to draw triangle 5, 24, 32 ,16 ,8 and so on . How can i achieve this without rebuilding the ibo for each frame ?
    sorry but i am pretty new to opengl.
    Thanks for your time

Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Use multiple draw calls; the parameters to all glDraw* calls allow you to specify a first (which with glDrawElements is the offset to the first) and count, so use them, because you don't have to draw the entire buffer with each draw call.

Junior Member Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by mhagain View Post
    Use multiple draw calls; the parameters to all glDraw* calls allow you to specify a first (which with glDrawElements is the offset to the first) and count, so use them, because you don't have to draw the entire buffer with each draw call.
    Sorry i didn't understand completely what you meant, wouldn't this be very inefficient to have a drawcall for each triangle ????

Advanced Member Frequent Contributor arekkusu's Avatar
    glMultiDrawElements.

Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    I'd try both glMultiDrawElements() and building the index array each frame, and see which is faster.

I wouldn't take it for granted that glMultiDrawElements() will win for single-triangle batches.

Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by vincent71 View Post
    Sorry i didn't understand completely what you meant, wouldn't this be very inefficient to have a drawcall for each triangle ????