Is it possible to get the value of every pixel?

I am really a beginner and my question is:

In openGL, is it possible to get the data of every pixel?
I want to get what every pixel means in the image (e,g, a tree, a house or sky) and the RGB value of that pixel.
If there is such a way to do this, how?

Thanks very much.

glReadPixels() can be used to read the contents of a framebuffer.

As mentioned, glReadPixels will do it.

However, it may help us to help you better if you talked a little about why you want to do this. While you can just issue a glReadPixels call and get the pixel data, it’s not always the ideal solution for all problems, and depending on the problem you’re trying to solve, there are probably better ways.

[QUOTE=mhagain;1280435]As mentioned, glReadPixels will do it.

However, it may help us to help you better if you talked a little about why you want to do this. While you can just issue a glReadPixels call and get the pixel data, it’s not always the ideal solution for all problems, and depending on the problem you’re trying to solve, there are probably better ways.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your help.
I am trying to generate image data to build an object recognition system using machine learning algorithms, so I need to know what every pixel means.
It might be not difficult to get the RGB values, but I want to know the meaning of pixels.
For example, which pixel can be labeled as cars, and which pixel can be labeled as roads.

[QUOTE=wcx730916119;1280437]Thanks for your help.
I am trying to generate image data to build an object recognition system using machine learning algorithms, so I need to know what every pixel means.
It might be not difficult to get the RGB values, but I want to know the meaning of pixels.
For example, which pixel can be labeled as cars, and which pixel can be labeled as roads.[/QUOTE]