PBO in openGL ES is stalling

Hello Guys,

I am running into some troubles when it come to using PBO’s in opengl es. I did a fairly large amount of reading trough the forum and the Internet concerning that issue (there are several posts on pbo stalling issue, and found 2 specifically about openglEs on that forum), and I am thinking the issue I am facing is hardware related more than anything else; even though I may also have a made a mistake in my code as I am fairly new to the world of OpenGl in general.

The goal that I am trying to achieve is to grab a screen capture of the OpenGl context and save it directly in the app so the user as full control of creating/saving and sharing content within my app: it is essential that I use glReadPixels to get a hold of the actual gl context, and hopefully achieve video capture with a triple or quadruple-buffered approach.

The code bellow is in Java, I call takeSnap() at the end of my OnDrawFrame() method meaning that it is supposed to be the last thing that is called at the end of the frame.

Also not having acces to the glReadPixels( […], void* data) in Java I used the JNI to call that function that is what glReadPixelsPBO() stands for.

private void takeSnap(Viewport eyeView) {

if (bDoScreenShot) {

if (destination == null) {
                destination = ByteBuffer.allocate(eyeView.width * 4 * eyeView.height);
                destination.order(ByteOrder.nativeOrder());
            }

index = index % 2;
            int nextIndex = (index + 1) % 2;

// Log.d("Indexscreen", " index = " + index + " index2 = " + nextIndex);

int videoSize = eyeView.width * eyeView.height;
            long startime = System.nanoTime();
            if (frameNum == 0) {

GLES30.glGenBuffers(2, pboIndex, 0);

GLES30.glBindBuffer(GLES30.GL_PIXEL_PACK_BUFFER, pboIndex[0]);
                GLES30.glBufferData(GLES30.GL_PIXEL_PACK_BUFFER, videoSize * 4, null, GLES30.GL_DYNAMIC_READ);

GLES30.glBindBuffer(GLES30.GL_PIXEL_PACK_BUFFER, pboIndex[1]);