Polygon rendering Issues

Hello All,

I am relatively new to the OpenGL graphics programming and I hope that someone can give me some assistance or shed some light on the problem I am having with rendering a polygon face.

I have a polygon made up of 12 vertices. The overall shape of the polygon is a representation of the letter H with specific parameters as follows:

• Height
  • Width
  • WallThickness[ATTACH=CONFIG]873[/ATTACH]

These parameters should be self explanatory. I create 12 normalized vertices from the above information and I start a GL_POLYGON operation with the 12 vertices in clockwise order. This is a closed polygon. What happens is that I get something that is not rendered correctly as expected. See attached imagine. Additionally, to ensure that my vertices are in fact correct, I also perform a GL_LINE_LOOP with the same 12 vertices. They draw as expected for the given shape. See code below.

glLoadIdentity();
glTranslatef(FLocation.X,FLocation.Y,FLocation.Z);
// glRotatef(FAngle,Rotx,Roty,Rotz);
glColor3f(FNormSurfColor1.Red,FNormSurfColor1.Green,
FNormSurfColor1.Blue);
glBegin(GL_POLYGON);
for(LIndex=0;LIndex<12;LIndex++)
glVertex3f(FBackFace[LIndex].X,
FBackFace[LIndex].Y,
FBackFace[LIndex].Z);
glEnd();

glLoadIdentity();
	glTranslatef(FLocation.X,FLocation.Y,FLocation.Z);
	//glRotatef(FAngle,Rotx,Roty,Rotz);
	//First render the backface wireframe
	glBegin(GL_LINE_LOOP);
	glColor3f(FNormWireFrameColor.Red,FNormWireFrameColor.Green,
			  FNormWireFrameColor.Blue);
	for(LIndex=0;LIndex&lt;12;LIndex++)
		glVertex3f(FBackFace[LIndex].X,
				   FBackFace[LIndex].Y,
				   FBackFace[LIndex].Z);
	glEnd();

Is there a particular reason for the way this object is rendering on the screen, and how can I fix this?

Thanks,

James