Why use Transform feedback?

Hi :slight_smile:

I’m studying the Transform feedback.

I understand how to use the transform feedback buffer.
But I still don’t know why we use it.

Is there any good performance effect on transform feedback buffer?
(I guess it is concept of threading. For example, first vertex shader is only updating position and velocity, and second vertex shader is used on drawing vertex.)

And I also have another question that it can be done one pass vertex shader pipeline. why should be used transform feedback buffer? Is it like such a “pipelining” on Computer Architecture?

Off the top of my head, these are some possible uses:

• Say you do animations with a bones and skin system (vertex skinning) on the GPU, but need the transformed mesh for some physics or logic calculation on the CPU. TF essentially allows you to transform the mesh once, write to a buffer (optionally download that buffer to the CPU) and render the transformed mesh. This saves doing (the potentially expensive) vertex skinning twice.
  • You use some form of dynamic LOD, where models are tesselated based on distance from the camera. Since that distance usually changes slowly you only perform the tesselation when a change in LOD requires it, store the result in a TF buffer and for the frames where there is no change just re-use the TF buffer for rendering.

A more generic way of looking at uses for TF is whenever you have expensive vertex/geometry processing steps where the output can be used for multiple draw operations it can save you repeating the expensive steps for each draw.

Transform feedback is primarily used to retrieve values from vertex-transforming stages of the pipeline.
There are a lot of use cases. The reason in the case you mentioned is performance - using vertex shader to parallelize calculation (instead a single thread calculation on the CPU use tens or hundreds of threads on the GPU).
The second question is not clear. Can you reformulate it?