Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Thread: gl_PointCoord problem

Intern Newbie

gl_PointCoord problem

gl_PointCoord is not working(always returns 0). If I use GL_POINT_SPRITE, it works, however that was removed in GL 3.2, ...and Im using 3.3 now.
    So it works, but I have to use something that was removed in the GL version Im developing with. Is this my drivers bug, or do I misunderstand something? Can I expect consistent behavior on other GPUs and drivers with this "hack"?
    (My GPU is GeForce 8800 GT)

Junior Member Newbie
    Hi
    I had the same issue with 4.3 (on Nvidia 630M), but I am using openGL trough JOGL. So I asked there if it was a bug, but they said its all fine.
    So I think this behavoir is normal and will stay the same for future versions. On the other hand: Don't trust me, because I am a total noob, just started learing openGL.

Intern Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by sektion31 View Post
    Hi
    I had the same issue with 4.3 (on Nvidia 630M), but I am using openGL trough JOGL. So I asked there if it was a bug, but they said its all fine.
    So I think this behavoir is normal and will stay the same for future versions. On the other hand: Don't trust me, because I am a total noob, just started learing openGL.
    OK Thanks anyway!

Member Regular Contributor malexander's Avatar
    If you're using the Compatibility profile, GL_POINT_SPRITE still exists and must be explicitly enabled. GL_POINT_SPRITE is only removed in the Core profile, and gl_PointCoord should always be producing proper coordinates in Core.

Senior Member OpenGL Pro Aleksandar's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Aliii View Post
    gl_PointCoord is not working(always returns 0). If I use GL_POINT_SPRITE, it works, however that was removed in GL 3.2, ...and Im using 3.3 now.