glBufferData x glVertexPointer

Hi, I’m new to OpenGL and I have a question about the diference of glBufferData and glVertexPointer.
I’m reading a book that says that to use VBO I need to create a buffer, bind it, store data, render and delete.

My problem is on the store part…
For what i understood, the glBufferData() fills the buffer with the data parameter, correct me if I’m wrong.
After that I saw this glVertexPointer, which seems to do the same thing.

I don’t know if I missed somthing here or not, but I still didn’t get it.

I’m doing a paper about OpenGL using VBO and to continue I need this solved, :dejection:
Thank you for the help!

The gl*Pointer set of routines registers a data block which already contains the data for a vertex attribute. This can be a:

[ol]
[li]A CPU-pointer to a memory block in your application’s memory space (in the compatibility profile), OR [/li][li]An offset into the VBO (vertex buffer object) bound to the GL_ARRAY_BUFFER bind point with glBindBuffer. [/li][/ol]

If you choose option 2, then you need to have created, populated, and bound a buffer object already containing the data to the GL_ARRAY_BUFFER bind point. You’d create and populate it with glGenBuffers and glBufferData.

glVertexPointer = Register a data block to be read in the next Draw call for vertex position data (legacy attribute)
glColorPointer = Register a data block to read in the next Draw call for color value data (legacy attribute)

glVertexAttribPointer = Register a data block to be read in the next Draw call for generic vertex attribute #N

glGenBuffers = Create one or more buffer object handles
glBufferData = Allocate and fill the contents of a buffer object
glBufferSubData = Fill the contents of a buffer object (no allocation)

[QUOTE=Dark Photon;1248153]The gl*Pointer set of routines registers a data block which already contains the data for a vertex attribute. This can be a:

[ol]