Why ARB remove display list in in OpenGL Version 3.1?

In OpenGL Version 3.1, display list was removed through deprecation.
I’m a beginner,who can give me reasons?
thanks

Performance. Also, displaylists are mixing data and state changes but you might want to sort your rendering order to minimize state changes and draw as much data as possible with one draw call. Displaylists don’t help you with that.

Displaylists are useful to get some more performance out of glBegin/glEnd style immediate mode - but that is also deprecated, slow and far from how GPUs work (don’t waste your time learning that).

Um… err… checkout Mark Kilgard’s post here: Display lists in 3.1 - OpenGL: Advanced Coding - Khronos Forums

Going further take a look at slide 182 and on at: SIGGRAPH Asia 2008 Modern OpenGL | PPT [a presentation of Kilgard]. That presentation clearly states that display lists are a performance win… which likely should be read as display lists are a performance win on GL implementation that do it well (read in this context as NVIDIA).

My main complaint about display lists is that I have trouble remembering what commands running become part of display list state and what does not.

I can always dream up of a cleaned up display list for GL… dream

Whenever I see displaylists in real world code, I also see lots of glBegin/glEnd with small batches of geometry and lots of unsorted state changes. Oranizing your data in large batches and pushing those to the GPU memory is more like the gpu actually works.

However, it is true that without DL we don’t have the option anymore to collect sequences of static draw/state change commands to be later re-run as one command. Such a mechanism you still be useful if those commands would reside in GPU memory and be executed directly by the command processor of the GPU without any CPU cycles at all. Think of MultiDrawIndirect with a draw buffer on steroids (but that would be a quite complex addition I guess).