VBOs and Normals

Hi!

In advance, I am a really newbie concerning OpenGL but I’ve not found any documentation on my question. That’s why I registered here. Hope you can help me out :wink:

I am coding my first OpenGL programm and want to visualize some bending beams. I am using VBOs to construct my beams.

Currently I use
1 VBO for Vertex Positions
1 VBO for Colours
1 VBO for Indices

I use the VBO for Indices to minimize the amount of vertices. For example, I would draw a cube with only 8 vertices and use the index vbo for generating the triangle strip by using correct indices.

This works fine for me, in wireframe. Now i want to add lighnting and setup a new VBO with the normals. I filled it with the normal vectors for each face, however lightning is not correctly rendered.

For drawing I use
glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 34*10+8, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, 0);

I have the feeling, that my normals are applied to the vertices, not the triangles.

• What can I do to use VBOs to apply the normals onto my triangles?
  • I want to keep the amount of vertices minimal and still use my index VBO. Is this possible?

Thanks and kind regards,
roland

You have to specify a normal for each vertex in your VBO, that’s how vertex arrays work when using an index.
The value of each normal for the 3 verticies which make up a triange will probably be the same value as they are all on the same face/plane.

Thanks BionicBytes

Considering a simple cube currently I use 8 vertices (Wireframe) which I connect with indices.

When adding normals (=lighning), would I now need
12 Triangle-Strips -> 3*12 = 36 Vertices ?

Did I understand correctly?

I make it that you need 24.
Each surface of the cube is 4 verticies & normals. There are 6 faces of a cube, so that’s 6*4=24 uniquie vertex/Normals in total.