Buffer Objects with Vertex-Array Data

Hello :slight_smile:

This is not a tiny post, and I am not encountering technical or coding issues with OpenGL. But I am new to 3D coding and OpenGL and I just would like to be sure I understand well the use of Buffer Objects. I would be grateful for anyone who will take the time to read my post and guide me :slight_smile:

I am learning OpenGL using to the Red Book (7th edition).
I try to understand Buffer Objects. What I ask is "do I code it the good way ? Are there improvements (always using Buffer Objects of course).
I won’t give raw code (at least for gl______() calls), but only the ideas of how i understand the use of BOs.

My C++ code contains a class representing an editable Mesh, which is a collection of vertices and indices :

#include "Vector3.hpp"

class Mesh
{
    // ....
    ListOf<Vector3> Vertices;
    ListOf<Uint> Indices;
    // ....
};

Vector3 is just a {X,Y,Z}-float structure.
That way if I wish to represent a box meshed with triangles :

Vertices = {
        {-1,-1,-1},
        {1,-1,-1},
        {1,1,-1},
        {-1,1,-1},
        {-1,-1,1},
        {1,-1,1},
        {1,1,1},
        {-1,1,1}
    };

Indices = {
    };

My Mesh class also has two methods :

[ul][li]Draw : Asks for rendering my mesh;[*]UpdateBuffers : If no buffer object created yet for this mesh, create them. Then send vertices and indices in the BO[/ul][/li]
For that purpose, my methods are designed as below :

VERTICES = 0
INDICES = 1
Buffers = Array of 2 GLuint; (will contains the Buffer Object names)

Method "Draw"
{
    IF [Buffer Objects] are not "UP TO DATE" THEN
       [CALL UpdateBuffers Method]
    END IF

glBindBuffer(GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFER, Buffers[INDICES]);
    glVertexPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, 0, BUFFER_OFFSET(0));
    glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES, SIZE(Indices), GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, BUFFER_OFFSET(0));

}

Method "UpdateBuffers"
{
    glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);

IF [Buffer Objects] == NOTHING THEN
       // ...