Calculating where the shadow falls on a plane

Hi all,

I am new to OpenGL and it’s some time that I started programming with JOGL and JCUDA (OpenGL and Cuda porting on Java)

I would need to calculate the shadow of a 3d model on a plane. Models can be also 5 milions triangles while the plane is basically a square that ranges from 480 to 4800 tiles.

I already managed to draw the 3d model with OpenGL and calculate the projection of each triangle on the plane with CUDA.

The big problem for me arises when I want to know which tiles are covered by the shadow and which ones arent. If I draw the array of the projected triangle I have the result printed on the screen, but I need somehow to manage it (an idea would be to retrieve the result like a boolean matrix).

For example, a projected triangle on a 4x4 matrix could appear like the following:

1 means I have shadow on that tile, 0 means no shadow

I read a lot about rastering, ray tracing, FBOs, stencil buffer, etc…

But since I am a newbie on this field, I am very confused and so I would like to ask you which is the best idea to reach this goal.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

If I draw the array of the projected triangle I have the result printed on the screen, but I need somehow to manage it

This part is not clear to me. What do you actually want to do? Render your model such that it casts a shadow onto the plane or do you need e.g. the size of the area of the projection?

Rendering shadows is a huge topic, with a large number of techniques. Most are variations of either “shadow volumes” (basically extrudes silhouette edges in light direction and renders that into the stencil buffer, then uses the stencil to determine where light is reflected) or “shadow maps” (basically render the scene from the light’s point of view, and compare distance of a camera fragment with distance of closest object from light to decide if the fragment is lit).

Hallo Carsten, thanks for replying,