Problem reading file for maze game!!

Hi I’m a beginner programmer and I am trying to read my txt file of " 1’s and 0’s" to create my maze wall but I keep getting “fopen_s and fscanf_s not declared in scope” error. I am using Xcode on mac can you help me? Here’s my code:

void init() {

FILE *ifp;

glClearColor(1, 1, 1, 1);				// set backgoround color as white
	glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);				// smooth mode
	glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);				// enable depth mode

person.x = 5;
	person.y = 5;
	person.z = 10;
	person.direction = 180;

b3rdParty = false;

viewPortHeight = WINDOW_HEIGHT;
	viewPortWidth = WINDOW_WIDTH;

fopen_s(&ifp, "stage1.txt", "r");

fscanf_s(ifp, "%d %d ", &map_length, &map_width);

mappings = (int**)malloc(sizeof(int*) * map_width);

for(int i = 0; i < map_width; i++) {
		mappings[i] = (int*)malloc(sizeof(int) * map_length);
	}

for(int i = 0; i < map_width; i++) {
		for(int j = 0; j < map_length; j++) {
			fscanf_s(ifp, "%d ", &mappings[i][j]);

// starting point of the user
			if(mappings[i][j] == 10) {
				person.x = i * BLOCK_SIZE + (BLOCK_SIZE / 2);
				person.y = j * BLOCK_SIZE + (BLOCK_SIZE / 2);
				printf("Start here: %d %d
", i, j);
			}
		}
	}

ground_length = map_length * BLOCK_SIZE;
	ground_width = map_width * BLOCK_SIZE;

printf("Start!
");

fclose(ifp);
}

I don’t see what that has to do with OpenGL (the topic of these forums)? You are probably better off asking these kinds of questions on a general C programming forum.

Functions like fscanf_s and fopen_s that look like standard C library functions with an extra “_s” are not portable. They are a Microsoft extension that is intended to provide extra security - probably by making additional checks on the arguments etc.

For portable programs or ones that are developed on non Microsoft platforms they should (or must) be avoided.