Monitor Choice for OpenGL Development

I’m trying to decide on a monitor for my new Linux PC that I will use primarily for OpenGL graphics development.

I want an LED monitor. But should I choose an HD model? I will not be watching movies on the monitor. Just developing OpenGL graphics, and maybe some light gaming.

Would OpenGL graphics look better on an HD monitor vs non-HD?

Thanks. As you can no doubt tell, I’m an OpenGL beginner. I appreciate all the good help I’ve received on this forum.

Buy a CRT (ok I am half-joking).
Any good screen will do.
Just beware of reverse-ghosting effect caused by too strong overdrive present on quite a lot of LCD screens. This leaves ugly negative trails behind animated objects, but allows to pass artificial response-time tests below a handful milliseconds :
http://img1.lesnumeriques.com/produits/150/3796/WebAlex%2816%29.jpg
Had to return my iiyama B2409HDS, it was really horrible.

At least choose a model allowing to tone down this overdrive.

Actually, while we’re talking about it, I have a question. I’ve always heard and read that the color/gamma quality on LCDs wasn’t up to tube standards, and that anyone that cares about such should go CRT. Even recently, tripped over web page recently stating that gamma on many LCD varies all over the map just based on viewing angle (I think we’ve all seen this effect).

This still the case? I haven’t seen any recent LCD-CRT “showdown” reviews that address this question properly.

I still use a tube (21"). But every once in a while think about what I’d get if it ever quits.

LCD did not improve much on the angle-dependant color change.
With a large screens (eg. 26" 16/10 ratio) you can clearly see a gradient of color on what should be a uniform red or blue.
With lower color saturation, gamma “randomization”, and light gray going to white while dark gray and black clamping to very dark gray, these are the main problem I still see on computer LCD.