Loading Volume Data to 3D texture

Hey all,

I’m trying to load volume data from a .raw file into a 3D texture. I have no experience with this, and I’m unable to find much information on how it is done (nearly all of the stuff I have seen has been about creating a 3D texture, rather than loading volume data into it).

The data been loaded is in the form of

I suppose my main problem is that I don’t really understand what the data represents. I assume each line is a slice of the volume, and that the data in the right column is a representation of the data in the middle column (both are highlighted when I select one in VS)

I am trying to load the volume using DevIL at the moment, but I am running into linker errors with it.

So what I’m asking really if anybody has any advice, maybe some books, articles or tutorials on the subject either. I’m really struck and it would be really appreciated, thanks!

Hi,
The data you are viewing is in binary format so you cant use a normal text editor to see it (as u r doing here) nor can u see it using an image loading library like DevIL. Normally, the data may be 8-bit or 16-bit CT/MRI data which u would know from the source which gave u this data (and you would know the data dimensions also). Once you have this data, you load it from the file into an array (I am showing u how to do it next) and then pass that array to the glTexImage3D function (shown later). There are two chores here: 1) loading volume data and 2) rendering volume data.
Loading raw binary data from disc to opengl texture
You may use the C filing routines like this to load the data.

//assuming that the data at hand is a 256x256x256 unsigned byte data
int XDIM=256, YDIM=256, ZDIM=256;
const int size = XDIM*YDIM*ZDIM;
bool LoadVolumeFromFile(const char* fileName) {
   FILE *pFile = fopen(fileName,"rb");
   if(NULL == pFile) {
	return false;
   }
   GLubyte* pVolume=new GLubyte[size];
   fread(pVolume,sizeof(GLubyte),size,pFile);
   fclose(pFile);