How to get an OGL4 context on Linux with NV 256.38

I’m just getting started with OGL again (last time using GL2 …) and I’m running into a weird issue. I just dug out my old stuff, and I want to create an OpenGL 4.1 context and use for instance ARB_debug_output.

My OS is Ubuntu 10.04 x64, with an ION2 chipset and the NVIDIA 256.38.03 driver. However, glxinfo only says version 3.3.0, and using glew from SVN I get 4.0 at most, but not 4.1, and ARB_debug_output is listed as OK [MISSING]

The glewinfo output is:

GLEW version 1.5.5
Reporting capabilities of display :0.0, visual 0x2b
Running on a ION/PCI/SSE2 from NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 256.38.03 is supported

# some stuff omitted
GL_VERSION_4_0: OK

# more stuff omitted

GL_ARB_debug_output: OK [MISSING]

glxinfo does not even list GL_ARB_debug_output. In order to create the context, I create a dummy window first, call glewInit() (so it initializes glXChooseFBConfig), and then I go through a standard initialization which works fine if I request OpenGL 3.2 or 3.3 for instance, but fails for OpenGL 4.0 and 4.1. After initializing, I call glewInit() again.

If I try to get a 4.0 or 4.1 context, I get the following error:

X Error of failed request:  BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  135 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  34 ()
  Serial number of failed request:  24
  Current serial number in output stream:  25

My initialization code is based on Tutorial: OpenGL 3.0 Context Creation (GLX) - OpenGL Wiki; but with glewInit mixed in. I changed the code to request a GL 4.0 or 4.1 context to test if that works, but it fails as well.