How to generate stereo manually

Hi
I started learning OpenGL. I worked myself thru the “Beginning OpenGL Game Programming second edition” book.
I think it is a great source for learning OpenGL 3.

My goal is to generate a 3D world which is rendered in stereo.
I have the nVidia GTS250 and the 3D Vision shutter glasses.

3D Vision is capable of displaying scenes in stereo while they are not developped that way. So it probably overrides the (mono) rendering and makes the second view (stereo) automatically for you.

I would like to develop some application that does stereo rendering manually. So that I have complete control over it.

So I quess I have to use quad buffer mode. But how can I make this work on the nVidia shutter glasses? How can I make the shutter glasses sync to the monitor? I do not want nVidia makes this stereo automatically, so should I remove the nVidia 3D Vision driver stuff?

Do I also have to tune my grafics card using RivaTuner? Or is this card capable of doing the quad buffer mode?

I would be very happy if some one could show me a program example how to do that. Prefereable without using Glut.

Historically, I think quad-buffered stereo has been Quadro-only. In the NVidia driver README, it’s pretty explicit about quad-buffered stereo being Quadro only. So if the docs are correct, that shouldn’t work on your GTS250.

However, while I thought I’d heard and read that the true 3D shutter glasses stereo solution (aka “NVidia 3D Vision”, in contrast to “NVidia 3D Vision Discover which is just cheap red/blue anaglyph glasses), was locked to Quadros only. For instance:

However, here:

it says it supports “full NVidia 3D Vision”, whatever marketing decided that means.

So who knows. I’m not impressed with how unclear the information is out there on NVidia’s 3D Vision support.