Has anyone ever used Nvidia Shader Library?

<a href=“NVIDIA Shader Library” rel=“nofollow” target=“_blank”>

Has anyone ever used the Nvidia Shader Library? There are tons of great CG shaders there. I would really like to use them in a project. I’ve used GLSL and became discouraged with the lack of resources, like not being able to find code for environment cube mapping. Let me know if anyone has used Nvidia’s shaders before or if anyone knows of a good place to start for using them. I have never used CG before and I would appreciate some knowledge on how I should start, Nvidia’s website just sorta throws this stuff out there with no entry point :frowning:

BTW, here is my GLSL shader gallery video [url=http://bluebomber128.wordpress.com/2009/07/11/opengl-shader-gallery/]GLSL Shader Gallery Video</a>. Such a great language for OpenGL, but just not enough community support :frowning:

Cg is based on glsl. Cg is Nvidia specific. Cg has no support on ATM chip. This forum targets languages that can work on both chips.

NVIDIA forum may have more members using CG.

Some people have good reasons to use Cg instead of glsl. One could be because they like the syntax, provided development tools,… and especially because its API supports OpenGL and D3D.

But the sad thing is that ati hardware still only support the old arbvp1 and arbfp1 profiles, if I am not mistaken.

What i heard is CG is better optimized and run faster on NVIDIA chips than GLSL. As a small example, unlike in GLSL where setting up a shader program takes 4-5 steps, CG completes it in 1-2 step.

Another point is when CG came, the Texture rectangle support was already included. GLSL rejected it earlier but with higher shader models still the support has to be explicitly enabled.

You can use GLSL profiles to “compile” Cg to GLSL. Unfortunately, no UBO support yet.

Can you please explain or give a link?
I did not know this before.