POT & NPOT textures

Hey guys,

I have a difficulty in understanding the difference between the POT and NPOT textures. I’ve gotten very confused on this matter, and its quite frustrating, thats why i am posting here. First of all i am confused where a texture is loaded. Some say the “video memory” (is that the same as the RAM?) others say the GPU.
I am fairly new to OpenGL so the questions might seem stupid to you, and i might end up mixing things.

1.) A POT texture, as i understand, is an image that has dimensions of 2^n x 2^m which means 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048. This is because it has to fit the hardware structure - but why?? How is this image loaded, and where is it loaded in the RAM, CPU or CPU? I am a bit confused here.

2.) NPOT:
So what does an NPOT mean? Is it any image that can serve as a texture, no matter the dimensions, in width and height? Or how? A 200x200 (NPOT) texture image yields lower performance than a 256x256 pixel texture image? Why is that?
If I read a 200x200 texture into CPU, will I allocate space of 256x256 on the GPU, which means i am wasting space. Or how is this understood correctly?

I am probably mixing things up here…
help is much appreciated!
thanks!

1. In the normal case you load it into RAM first, and then using glTexSubImagexx you put a copy in the VRAM of the GPU. Depending on how many textures you load they may not all fit into VRAM and then the driver will manage that for you. But ideally they should be in VRAM. Most new HW will work with NPOT (Non-Power-of-Two) textures, which are not 2^n x 2^n.

2. Your description is correct. As to what each driver does. That’s driver dependent, but most are fairly adept at making good use of your VRAM.

As for performance. Case by case, driver by driver, manufacturer by manufacturer, but generally it’s “safer” to stick with NPOT if you are unsure, or do some benchmarking.