Is it just me?

I was just wondering if anyone else ran into so many problems when first learning OpenGL. I’m just getting into it and I’ve spent about 5% of the time actually programming/debugging and 95% trying to solve ridiculous errors on various PC’s. On one PC I haven’t been able to compile or run a single OpenGL program for 3 weeks!!! Thread Link

I know my way around C and still find myself stumbling around for days with mysterious problems like runtime crashes and linker issues. It’s worse when I try to switch between IDE’s, where one gives me a console and the other doesn’t, or linker issues where the other works fine, even though I’m straight-up copying code and link libraries!

I guess I have two issues: One, do other people constantly run into problems they can’t solve by searching google or scanning a textbook, or is it just me? And two, is this something I’ll get over with experience, or am I missing something? Will switching to a Mac solve all my problems?

I love programming. I hate weird exceptions nobody’s seen but me. And I’m very frustrated…

I have very little experience of developing directly for OpenGL on a PC.
When I had to put a large GL project together on the PC I wrapped it in OpenSceneGraph.

From what I have heard and read it seems not to be a perfect world in PC OpenGL Land. And even when I was using OpenSceneGraph I had a lot of incompatibility problems and weird crashes when we deployed to certain clients machines.

If you are looking for a single unified ecosystem who’s native graphics library is OpenGL then a Mac is a good choice. The OS, Dev Software and most importantly the Hardware is all put together by one company, and IMO a pretty good company.