Newbie needs help: how to set dimensions of display screen?

hey!
I am new to mac as well as opengl(though I have some experience with VC++).

I am building on some basic foundation code I downloaded, but I could specify co-ordinate values only between -1.0 to 1.0 in all the the three axes.
How do I change these values so that I can set the scale for the axes? where do I do that?

What is depth test? Whenever I enable that my display gets weird. Can anyone explain this, please?
I have to rebuild a VC++ application that uses OpenGL extensively. Is there a difference in the OpenGL coding for mac and Windows(apart from the setup of course)?

The changes needed depend on if you are using GLUT or not. If you use GLUT then you shouldn’t need to change much for the windowing, but if you used the Win32 APIs to make windows in VC++ then you’ll have to change the window code for it.

As for the depth test, it’s used to determine if there are fragments that are totally covered by other fragments and will not even process them if they are. This saves some time.

The scalling bit. You’ll need to set up a projection using either glFrustum or glOrtho with the correct arguments in order to set the viewing volume. I believe that it defaults to -1 to 1 on all axis.

If you really don’t know much about Macintosh programming then I suggest that you pick up a book ( Macintosh Programming for Dummies is a great beginning book ) and read through it to get a basic grasp of what’s going on. Then you can look through the AGL ( Apple Graphics Library ) specification to see how to set up an aglContext to use with OpenGL.

Hope that helps some,
–Kainsin

Thanks!
I am using GLUT.
So If you could tell me more about the scaling it would be very helpful,please.
What fuctions to use in specific.

Probably the easiest way to start out is by using gluPerspective.

First enter the projection matrix by calling:

glMatrixMode( GL_PROJECTION );

Then use gluPerspective as follows: