Using OpenGL without using the mainloop

I am new to programming with OpenGL. I have been able to do some of the examples with no real issues. I was wandering is there a way to draw graphics without using the mainloop. I am looking to do a program that will draw graphics but will not leave the loop running so that other parts of the program can run and remain in control. If this can be done can someone point me to an example that I can look at.

Thanks in advance,
Walt

what is the problem? my program uses the main loop (XtAppAddMainLoop) and when running, other programs can be in control / “highlighted” and opengl rendering still occurs.

It’s an issue of event-driven programming and user-interface responsiveness. The event-driven model doesn’t look natural at first glance. But it makes sense for a lot of reasons.

Also, the main loop doesn’t actually do anything unless there are events to process (e.g. display, resize, etc.).

You can register callbacks to handle your application specific requirements (e.g. idle callback). You can also spawn other threads or processes.

Why are you wanting control over the main event loop?

I think that I might have been on a single track with this mainloop. I can work with this in the other aspects to my program. BTW i am writing a game with external devices that can effect the game outcome and display (message boxes, animation, numeric displays). I had already created a event loop and was worried about the interaction of the two loops (if any) and a solution was to just handle animation, resizing, etc… on my own by calling functions directly. I am not sure that this is the smart way to go…

Thanks,
Walt

What GUI toolkit are you using?

Make sure that your event loops cooperate nicely. Are they in the same thread? If so, make sure you don’t starve the GUI event processing. Otherwise your UI might appear non-responsive.

solution was to just handle animation, resizing, etc… on my own by calling functions directly.