PBuffer creation..... ?

Hello,

I’m having a hard time creating a pbuffer. I know how to set them up, I’ve used them before, but only in single-windowed apps.

This time I have a non-OpenGL app running and I need to create a pbuffer “on top” of it. OK, I need an OpenGL DC/RC in order to query for the WGL_xxx_ARB pointers. So, I created a dummy window with GLUT, and used glutHideWindow() to hide it as I don’t like it being shown. wglGetProcAddress works fine now, gets all the pointers for the ext string, WGL_ARB_pbuffer, WGL_ARB_pixel_format and WGL_ARB_render_texture. So far, so good…

The problem is with wglCreatePbufferARB(). It complains about an invalid handle. I am not very good at MFC and all that M$ Window creation stuff, someone please advise what’s wrong…

Here’s the code:

—8<–8<— snip snip —8<–8<—

GLUT creates a window, hidden with glutHideWindow();

// Get the entry point for the OpenGL extensions string.
wglGetExtensionsStringARB = (PFNWGLGETEXTENSIONSSTRINGARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress(“wglGetExtensionsStringARB”);

char* ext = NULL;
if( wglGetExtensionsStringARB ) {
ext = (char*)wglGetExtensionsStringARB( wglGetCurrentDC() );
} else {
return FALSE;
}

// WGL_ARB_pbuffer
if( strstr( ext, “WGL_ARB_pbuffer” ) == NULL ) {
return FALSE;
} else {
wglCreatePbufferARB = (PFNWGLCREATEPBUFFERARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress(“wglCreatePbufferARB”);
wglGetPbufferDCARB = (PFNWGLGETPBUFFERDCARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress(“wglGetPbufferDCARB”);
wglReleasePbufferDCARB = (PFNWGLRELEASEPBUFFERDCARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress(“wglReleasePbufferDCARB”);
wglDestroyPbufferARB = (PFNWGLDESTROYPBUFFERARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress(“wglDestroyPbufferARB”);
wglQueryPbufferARB = (PFNWGLQUERYPBUFFERARBPROC)wglGetProcAddress(“wglQueryPbufferARB”);

if( !wglCreatePbufferARB &#0124; &#0124; !wglGetPbufferDCARB &#0124; &#0124; !wglReleasePbufferDCARB &#0124; &#0124; !wglDestroyPbufferARB &#0124; &#0124; !wglQueryPbufferARB ) {
  	return FALSE;
  }

}

// WGL_ARB_pixel_format