Error defining Varible

When I goto define a varible in a for loop the first time everything goes fine the second time around my program crashes with
‘Segmentation fault’ showing in konsole.

Here is the code

meshes[i].vertices = (Vertice*)malloc(sizeof(Vertice) * meshes[i].mesh.numvertexs * meshes[i].mesh.nummeshframes);

Can someone please help me?

Thanks,
Nuke

The use of the non-word “Vertice” is an abomination (I believe that is the official OpenGL stance, too). The singular form of “vertices” is “vertex”.

Aside from that, there is nothing in that one line of code that looks bad in itself. I’d expect that ‘i’ is past the end of an array.

Thats what I thought too. It looks like theres nothing wrong with it. Also Im a programmer not a writer. Im sorry if I cannt spell.

This is a general c question methinks.

Anyway, I guess you defined meshes as a pointer to some struct.
Eg

struct mesh { <...> };

mesh* meshes;

Better use something like
mesh meshes[max_meshes];
You must insert a number there, mesh meshes won’t cut it.

This will give you a fixed size array to fill. If you don’t know the number of meshes at compile time, you can use

mesh* meshes=(mesh*)malloc(number_of_meshes*sizeof(mesh));

The code snippet you posted is fine as far as I can see, and doesn’t need to be changed.

I do have that code to clear out meshes what needs clearing out is vertices. Thats why I have it doing it in the for loop.

Ill post the mesh and vertice structs for everyone.

typedef struct Vertice
{
signed short vec[3];
unsigned char normal[2];
};

typedef struct Mesh
{
MeshHeader mesh;
Skin* skins;
Triangle* triangles;
TexCoord* texcoord;
Vertice* vertices; //this needs clearing out now

TEXTURE texture;
unsigned char settexture;
};

meshes[i].vertices = (Vertice*)malloc(sizeof(Vertice) * meshes[i].mesh.numvertexs * meshes[i].mesh.nummeshframes);

[This message has been edited by nukem (edited 12-07-2002).]

Whoa, interesting vertex layout