OpenGL and Qt by Trolltech

I am working on an application that imbeds some OpenGL into Qt (the C++ GUI builder by Trolltech, not QuickTime). I have a red ‘L’ drawing onto the screen using a GL_LINE_LOOP from (0,1) to (0,0) to (1,0). The ‘L’ always draws, but it always goes from the top-center of the screen to the middle of the screen to the right-middle of the screen. This never matters on what my glOrtho( ) is. It can be something like (-100, 100, -100, 100, 0, 0) or (-5, 5, -5, 5, 0, 0) or even (-10, -5, -10, -5, 0, 0). This last one should theoretically result in an empty black screen but it doesn’t. I have no idea why this is doing this. Does Qt have its own glOrtho type function that I have not found for a QGLWidget? I have been using OpenGL for over a year now and Qt for the last 9 months, so I know how to handle simple things like this. But this is confusing me like crazy as I have never used both Qt and OpenGL in the same project! Does anyone have any idea why this behaves like this? Thanks!

This is because all three of your given glOrtho() calls must have thrown a GL_INVALID_VALUE error and been ignored because zNear must not equal zFar.
Read the OpenGL 2.0 spec page 46.
During debugging add glGetError() calls to your code to catch such.