Using more than 8 bits to specify color

I would like to use an OpenGL buffer as an auxiliary for a geometric algorithm. My algorithm renders a large number of rectangles on an initially black background (all pixels have value 0), such that each rectangle increases the value of the pixels inside it by 1. So I would like a pixel on which 1,000 rectangles were drawn to have value 1,000. I am aware of the ‘blending’ functions for the color buffer, and of the ‘increase’ functions for the stensil buffer, but I am not an expert. In particular, I do not know how to get to values larger than 255 (8 bits in the stencil buffer, or in one field of color, like red, in the color buffer). Can I somehow implement the above algorithm so that it will be able to use values in the range of millions - in other words, render millions of rectangles with correct values in the buffer?

Thank you very much,
Vladlen

1. If you use the accum buffer, you automatically get 16 bits per component, so that’s something.

2. Another method would be via pbuffer: create 1 buffer and render only 255 rectangles in each. Retreive all the buffer and do some arithmetic yourself, and continue like that.

3. Perhaps fragment shaders have a means to setup this kind of functionality. I dont know much about them so …

4. If you can get a 32 bpp stencil on your hardware, you are set.
    V-man

You could get around 1024 levels by drawing 255 rectangles to each channel. I assume you are going to download the image anyway, so a little post processing on the image should not be bad, especially if you issue the commands to draw the next 1024 rectangles before adding up the color components (while the CPU is crunching the image, the GPU can be busy drawing another 1024 rectangles).

1. Draw 255 rectanges in using Colorbu(1,0,0,0)

2. Draw 255 rectanges in using Colorbu(0,1,0,0)

3. Draw 255 rectanges in using Colorbu(0,0,1,0)

4. Draw 255 rectanges in using Colorbu(0,0,0,1)

5. Download the framebuffer