create and extrude face from user input

Hello,

I am very new to OpenGL and am working on my first stand alone application. I am trying to create a build your own kitchen type application. The first step is to create your architecture - which I have a nice little World with a grid for a kind of floor - I have sucessfully created a draw function to describe the walls interior based on left mouse clicks - and even added archs.

Where I am having trouble is in determining if the user has closed his polygon or not? and then once I determine that I have a closed polygon how do I create a face and extrude that face to give the walls some height??

Thanks for the help!

Sounds like it’s going to be an all-nighter! :wink:

I’m not sure what you mean by closed in this case. If you mean a simple, convex polygon, you can take any edge of the polygon and see if all the other polygon points are on the interior, as defined by the winding direction. One way to do this is to define a plane using the edge and the polygon normal, then test the polygon points in turn against this plane using the signed point-plane distance. Repeat this plane test for each edge until a point is found to be exterior, or you exhaust the point list, in which case your polygon is convex.

Extrusion of a polygon can be accomplished by duplicating the user-defined polygon, reversing the winding direction, offsetting along the normal direction (or any direction for that matter) by the desired distance, then connecting the two faces with triangles/quads around the perimeter. Is that something you’re interested in?

Best of luck to you, and a happy new year!

:slight_smile:

Extrusion of a polygon can be accomplished by duplicating the user-defined polygon, reversing the winding direction, offsetting along the normal direction (or any direction for that matter) by the desired distance, then connecting the two faces with triangles/quads around the perimeter. Is that something you’re interested in?