General Question

I’m a total beginner in d3 programming and I have some gernela questions:

1. Is OpenGL a 3d Enginge?
  2. What does OpenGL
  3. What is/does DirectX?
  4. What are the differences?
  5. Where can I learn something about programming a complete 3DGame in C++? With physik ect.

Please be nice, if I annoyed with these question.
Thanks for your answers
JOhannes

Check out www.opengl.org for what OpenGL is. Search for “OpenGL vs Direct3D” in any search engine, including this one.

I wouldn’t attempt trying to write a complete 3D game if you don’t know the above things. Start slow. Go to nehe.gamedev.net and start with the first tutorial.

[This message has been edited by starman (edited 08-01-2003).]

1. OpenGL is a 3D API, not an engine. It is used as the basis of many game engines, but cannot be thought of one on its own. All it handles is rendering 3D (and sometimes 2D) images…things like physics and user interfaces are nowhere to be found.

2. OpenGL helps to make the abstract world of 3D graphics and maths more user-friendly through functions that would otherwise be nightmares to code by hand.

3. DirectX is a game development API. It has several components, including Direct3D (3D and 2D graphics), DirectInput (keyboard, mouse, joystick), DirectSound (guess what this does :-P), and others.

4. Assuming that you are talking about Direct3D only, there are several differences. Direct3D is supported only on Windows systems; OpenGL works across Windows, Mac, and Unix/Linux. Direct3D is proprietary to Microsoft, and any advancements in the API must be made there; OpenGL is updated by the ARB and by individual hardware vendors.

All in all, this means that OpenGL often gets new features sooner, but this non-standardization is just as often a curse for programmers wishing to support all hardware combinations. D3D is a much more uniform spec, but I find it unnecessarily complex in many areas.