colored Texture & Light & GL_DECAL/GL_MODULATE

I am new to texture, and my application needs to do the colored texture with GL_DECAL, but the problem is that the light does not work for GL_DECAL, and I ned to set GL_MODULATE for light to work. How could I make these three work together?

GL_DECAL ignores the primary color and just shows the texel.

GL_MODULE multiplies primary color and texel and shows the result.

Now if you have lighting, primary color comes from material color and light color. The lighting mathematics is used here.
So use glLight to set up your light and glMaterial for your polygons.

V-man, thanks for your reply.

My application set up light and material before calling texture environment setting
glTexEnvi( GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE, GL_DECAL);
or
glTexEnvi( GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE, GL_MODULATE);

GL_MODULATE works fine for light, and GL_DECAL igores the light and primary color. To make the Texture without blend(GL_DECAL) to work for light, do I need to set up the light and material again after glTexEnvi?
Thanks

No, because one is independent of the other.
You can read in the red book that GL is a state machine (or websites about GL)

Sorry, it seems that I did not express my question clearly.

It seems that if we specify the following function:

glTexEnvi( GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE,
GL_DECAL );
The lighting doesn’t affect the textured objects.

How could I have GL_DECAL application with lighting ?

I think canned lighting is going to be difficult with decal. Try looking up the environment mode equations in the spec or the programming guide. Decal basically blends between the previous environment (primary color for env 0) and the source texture, based on the texture’s alpha, which will produce all light color, all texture color, or something somewhere in between, depending on whether RGB or RGBA textures are used.

Hope it helps…

Cheers

From the OpenGL FAQ: