texture projection

In order to implement shadow mapping, I first started with texture projection to create the effect of a torch.
The problem is that I don’t really understand how to project a texture, no matter how many tuts and docs I got over the net.
My question is: is there a very simple tutorial that explains the math and provides the code (the whole code)? Note that I’m an opengl beginner (not more than a month)…
Thank you!

I think there are various tuts but in general, the idea is so simple I believe they’ll end confusing you.

Did you check out the english wikipedia ? Although it doesn’t give you code, I find it states pretty well the concept and some hints on how to reach the goal.

The problem is that I’m new to OGL, so the mathemathical difficulties are added to the algorithmic that are added to the programming … :frowning:
Anyway, I think to have understood the basic theory behind the effect, but I don’t understand some details. What I understood is:
-I create a new camera by setting the MODELVIEW and PROJECTION matrices to reflect the virtual projector properties.
-I use glTexGen to tell opengl to generate texture coordinates.
In short, projecting a vertex on a viewplane let me find uv coordinates on that plane. If I imagine to apply a texture on that plane, I have the uv texture coordinates of that vertex.
I can now render the vertex from the camera using the calculated normals. Is that correct?

Originally posted by <Alex>:
The problem is that I’m new to OGL, so the mathemathical difficulties are added to the algorithmic that are added to the programming … :frowning:
Anyway, I think to have understood the basic theory behind the effect, but I don’t understand some details. What I understood is:
-I create a new camera by setting the MODELVIEW and PROJECTION matrices to reflect the virtual projector properties.
-I use glTexGen to tell opengl to generate texture coordinates.