Problem understanding extensions strings and OGL features

I am new to OpenGL and have some questions. I have looked at the OpenGL 1.4 PDF and I didn’t find what I was looking for.

I am assuming any “core” features in version 1.4 must be in all drivers claiming to be 1.4. Is that correct?
What confuses me is that (for example) ARB_texture_env_crossbar is listed as promoted to core for 1.4 and has a name string of GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar assigned to it. Yet my video card claims 1.4 compatibility but does not have it listed in the extensions. I have a ti 4200 and a GF FX 5200.

I did read http://www.opengl.org/developers/code/features/OGLextensions/OGLextensions.html

In short, I just would like a better understanding of how to see what features are in a particular version and what is optional.

If anyone has a good link explaining these basics, please can you post me a link?

Thank You

GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar was promoted, but a minor change was introduced before it became a core function, so those cards cannot live up to the GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar spec, but they do live up to the 1.4 spec.

( the change is about how disabled textureunits should be handled, and probably not an issue in your code)

I have a Gf 4200, too, and i think i remember, that it claimed only to support 1.3.
If they today claim to support 1.4, than that´s wrong, the Gf 4 does not support the crossbar extension.

The GfFX should support it, though.

Get the extension loading library: http://www.levp.de/3d/

It does all the extension checking and initializing for you, so you can be sure, that you didn´t do anything wrong.

Cheers,
Jan.

Originally posted by Jan2000:
If they today claim to support 1.4, than that´s wrong, the Gf 4 does not support the crossbar extension.

If the driver provides a software fallback, then there’s nothing wrong. Would make little sense, though.