Opengl Platform Independence (PC/MAC) question

Hello All;
I registered earlier today and just now tried to log in 3 times and it seemed to work but the system still says I’m not logged in - I do not know why.

I am a Educational Simulation software designer and not a developer so I have a very basic technical question about Open-Gl. I’m pretty sure I know the answer but would like to hear it from the experts and would like further clarification.

Currently, we have developed immersive and interactive simulations exclusively for the PC platform using such higher level toolkits like Vega (Multigen-Paradigm), Worldtoolkit (Sense-8), and VTREE (CG2). However, folks have often complained that we don’t develop for the MAC platform too. Previously, I thought that you would have to develop two applications separately which would be cost prohibitive for us.

However, I have recently found out that if we have a developer use Open-gl (Rather than a platform-specific toolkit), then we may be able to develop for both platforms (PC/MAC) but develop only one set of code.

I have come to this forum to find out if this is in fact true. Can one or several of ya let me know if Open-gl would let us develop one set of code but use it for both MAC and PC ?

Is this what most folks do in order to develop for several different platforms ?

Thanks for any enlightenment you can provide me.

Tim

Yes, absolutely. This is one of the major reasons why many people prefer OGL to D3D. There will still be minor differences between platforms, mostly in the binding between the GL and the windowing system, but the vast majority of GL code is fully portable. Even the binding differences can be hidden away if you use a cross-platform toolkit such as SDL, which abstracts these things along with input, sound and the like.

Of course, there’s a lot more to any real app than just OpenGL calls. Depending on your app and dev language, you may need other cross-platform toolkits for GUI and so on.