yipes and double yipes

Okay here goes. I’m very very new to game design and want to build my own game, I do not have a vast knowledge of c++, but have enough knowledge I can pretty much look at a bit of code and see what it’s doing. My question is this… “Where should I start?” I’ve already got myself a very basic 3D mesh and I have a texture on it. I have it in 3ds format. I don’t know that this makes any difference, but I figured I’d put that out there just in case it was.

First you should figure out the best platform to use, if you are just going to create windows applications then OpenGL and win32 found be just fine, but if you want platform independence there are lots of choice, GLUT, GLFW, SDL and so on.

You should get yourself a 3ds loader, have a peek at www.sourceforge.net for libraries and you could also search this forum for other ideas.

Have a peek a some OpenGL tutorials to figure out how everything works, there are links on this websites to some tutorials and you can find zillions of them with google.

And when you run into problems you ask questions here…

Mikael

I would start by working through the tutorials at:
http://nehe.gamedev.net/

then you could start modifying a tutorial to start the basis of your game. (be prepared to scrap and start again when you learn new tricks!)

Think of modules, you’ll need several of them:

Math library,
SceneGraph
Physics Engine,
AI module,
Scripting Engine,
etc…

For some you can use third party products (OpenGL, OpenAL, DirectX, LUA, Python) or you can roll your own depending on coding skills and will to do it. :stuck_out_tongue:

Good luck!