A bit OT but I need help...

I’ve always been using C to program. Now I’m considering learning C++ for the OOP “benefits”. Could someone with experience tell me what the advantage of C++ is over C and if it is really a big advantage or just a hyped phrase “Object Orientated Programming”… Thanks!

Trying to start another flame war? I mostly use C++ and love it. I started programming in Pascal, then C. Here’s my ideas.

Advantages of C++ over C:
Object oriented languages provide for easier to program/maintain large projects.
OO is a more natural way to think about your projects.
OO promotes reusability.
OO promotes good program design.

Disadvantages of C++:
Probably the most difficult language to learn, after machine code and assembly.
Slower - maybe, maybe not.
More overhead for smaller programs.

I’m sure other people will add their own ideas. C++ does provide rewards if you put in the time to learn it. You can always use only those features of C++ that you want to - a lot of people do, including some on these boards. C++ is a huge topic to learn. There are many eccentricities of the language and a lot to remember (much more than C or Java or Python or Perl or …). If you really want to learn C++ get a good book and be prepared to put in the time. As a starter I would recommend Bjarne’s “The C++ Programming Language, 3rd Edition”. It can be a difficult read, but has (almost) everything you need within (Bjarne is the ‘creator’ of C++).

Hope that helps.

[This message has been edited by ffish (edited 07-30-2001).]

it’s “oriented”, not “orientATed”.
http://www.slashdot.org/articles/01/01/09/1420258.shtml

cheers,
John

LOL I’ve got a very esteemed lecturer at UWA who insists on using the phrase object orientated. I guess no one’s ever pointed the correct way out to him!

talk about bloat that slashdot page got to 700kb before i pulled the plug.
theres quite an interesing thread on the c.g.d.p.m usenet forum at the moment about it