vertex data into display list

Hi, Just wondering if anyone can help me regarding display lists. It is sort of similar to a previously listed topic ‘display list’. Anyway, I am new to this and want to know how to store a LOT of vertex data into a display list. It will be used for static geometry that is being rendered every frame in my programm. Also, where do i declare this? That is where in my code would i create the list?

I am drawing a static grid, but the vertex data is currently obtained by going through a set of ‘for’ loops. I am trying to make my program more efficient.

I know i am not explaining myself very well, but i am not too sure how to explain this problem in full detail. If anyone thinks they may be able to help PLEASE let me know what i should do.

Thanks everyone!

If it’s static geometry use a compiled interleaved vertex array instead…

look up the GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array extension and interleaved arrays in the red book…

Cheers,

Allan

Allan,

Cheers mate. I have red book here now so i’ll check it out. I’ll get back to you if i get stuck again!

Cheers,

Originally posted by meez:
[b]Allan,

Cheers mate. I have red book here now so i’ll check it out. I’ll get back to you if i get stuck again!

Cheers,[/b]

There’s absolutely no reason for display lists to be slower than CVA. I’d rather expect display lists to have a bit higher or comparable perfomance to VBO/VAO/VAR.

~velco

Good point.

i didnt actually say there faster (although i can’t imagine they’d be slower) BUT

meez says that (s)he wants to store a LOT of vertex data - having a single display list with tonnes of vertex data in it can be slow (sort of - e.g. a friend once had a display list with absolutely loads of vertices - breaking it up into 8 smaller ones tripled performance - this may not be an option)

and meez also says that (s)he’s new to this -IMO compiled vertex arrays are v.easy to get going (one of the great things about gl)