indices at glDrawElements(...);

hello,
is right, how i interpret the parameter “indices” in the glDrawElements() Function?

when i have 4 vertices in my floatarray and
indices = 1 2 3 3 2 4 4 2 1 1 3 4
and i use GL_TRIANGLES to draw the VA,
then there will be rendered 4 triangles building up a Tetrahedron.

so the indices correspond to the vertices in
the floatarray. ok, or am i completely wrong?

sorry, i have to ask this basic question
since i’m new to vertex arrays and the information in the OpenGL Specs is not telling me anything.

quote-> “Specifies a pointer to the location where the indices are stored.” … uh ?!?

btw,
i use “GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array” for drawing a mesh. i know, this method of drawing vertex arrays is nearly obsolete but i thought it would be right to start with this basic one.
which one would be better? i read ARB_EXT_VERTEX_OBJECT is the best one since it is vendor-independent. but my GF2MX doesn’t support it. what do you think i should use?

TIA
ghostdog

so the indices correspond to the vertices in the floatarray. ok, or am i completely wrong?

No, if I understand what you’re saying, then you’re right.
Consider each vertex to be only a single float, then the indices would be the array indices, in the sense vertex[3] would be the fourth vertex.

quote-> “Specifies a pointer to the location where the indices are stored.” … uh ?!?

I don’t know what is confusing you… the indices should be in their own array right? Pass this array here and you’re done (this does not apply to vertex buffer objects).

i read ARB_EXT_VERTEX_OBJECT is the best one since it is vendor-independent. but my GF2MX doesn’t support it. what do you think i should use?

I guess you’re saying ARB_vertex_buffer_object (aka ARB_vbo)
. It is supported by my Geforce2 and Geforce4Ti, I don’t see why GeForce2MX should not have it avaiable since it is very similar to my geforce2.