OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is C dying?

Junior Member Newbie

Is C dying?

1)Is C dying?
    2)Can you find job in the game community only with C knowledge and OpenGL?
    3)Why more and more games are using DX instead of OpenGL?
    Since I am new to game development I am asking these questions so that I have a grasp of reality.

Intern Contributor

Re: Is C dying?

1)
    Looking at desktop applications then you'll see that C is used less frequently than C++ (or C#, for as much as it's being used). But dying? no!
    C is often used in embedded applications and speed-critical applications. C,s advantage over C++ is still that it's a bit faster due to less overhead of the objects.

2)
    Well, I've never come into contact with the gameindustry, i'm merely a student, but from what I've read is that more and more games are using C++. The advantages of OO design are often greater that the disadvantages.
    Learning C++ would be a good move, so I have been told.

3)
    I have no experience with DirectX, but I think it's because most games are aimed to work under Windows, not cross-platform. I think I read somewhere that OGL is losing terrain to DirectX technology-wise, but don't quote me on that as I'm not sure.

Senior Member OpenGL Guru

1) It may be loosing, but not dying. C is still a very good language for low-level programming, microcontrollers for example.

2) No answer from me here, not enough experience on the topic. But I would be surprised if the answer is no.

3) Do you really mean to compare DirectX, a full feature multimedia library containing components for graphics, sound, music, input, network, with a pure graphics API? It's pretty obviuos why DirectX is more used that OpenGL; it has WAY more features. Games that uses OpenGL also, generally, uses DirectX for stuff that OpenGL does't provide, like input and sound.