Plot 3D : both solid fill and wireframe triangles

Hi

I’m a newbie in OpenGL. I’m trying to create a C# library to plot (X,Y,Z) surface made from connected triangles (I just pass axis X and Y array.

My specs are:

• each triangle just use a plain color depending on their z-value (gradient: red to blue) => no lighting / shade effect.

• the resulting surface is “solid” (filled) along with its wireframe (in black).

• labeling (text and decimal) on axes shall be displayed.

Questions:

• Do you know any existing open-source implementation for .NET ?

• Do you recommand to use GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP or GL_TRIANGLES to build the surface ?

• How to both fill a triangle AND draw its black border ? I couldn’t find any satisafctory answer…

Best Regards,

1. i know that there are, but i haven’t used C# myself, take a look at nehe.gamedev.net, i know that there are some C# openGL examples there.

2. GL_TRIANGLES is definitely easier to use than GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP.

3. simple first draw them as solids, then draw them as wireframe, perhaps with some polygon offset if needed.

thanks zeoverlord

I’ll give a try to the polygon offset because drawing polygon fill+line does not look professional at all.

I actually find another thread talkingabout this :

http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=2;t=020246#000000

but obviously there are still limitations … so NO definitive solution to this ???

:°(

Values 1.0 1.0 seem to be good for a lot of cases.

Well thanks!

The use of glPolygonOffset(1,1) seems satisfactory at this time.

zeoverlord says that GL_TRIANGLES is definitely easier to use than GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP. Ok but what about performance in my case (solid fill + wireframe) : will it improve ?

Triangle strips can be a bit better for perf, and well suited for regular grids.
For arbitrary triangles, stay with GL_TRIANGLES for a start.

Do you have performance problems now ?
Try display lists, or VBO.