100% newbie q's

Hello

Im relatively new to C++ programming, im not too experienced, but I use MSVB6, JavaScript, and (wait for it) BASIC!

I’d like to make a simple 3d program. I don’t want to ask much, but i’d just like something simple, like moving around in a square room or something.

Also, can OpenGL do decent 2D maths? How does Glide compare to OpenGL? Come to think of it, are there any Glide dev pages?

Cheers

Since you mentioned that you were new to C++, am I to assume that you might want help with OOP as well as OpenGL, GLU, and GLUT? Just remember one thing: just because you can link lists and inherit multiple classes with 20 constructors doesn’t mean you should.

[This message has been edited by masonium (edited 06-17-2001).]

Try http://nehe.gamedev.net/opengl.asp He has lots of good tutorials for beginners including one with FPS type movement. OpenGL is a low-level rendering API. It does no maths for you - you’ll have to do all your own. You can look at that as an advantage or disadvantage - it’s up to you. Don’t know anything about Glide, sorry.

Ok, er
a) Whats OOP (what happens when you stuff things up?)
b) Whats GLU (stuff that joins corners of paper to make a nice 3d box?)
c) Whats GLUT (An OpenGL programmer that likes 2 OpenGL windows at once?)

And don’t worry about Glide, I just wondered about it, since Direct3D and OpenGL have problems with my 3dfx V3 3000. Q3 and Half Life OpenGL run fine, but everything else seems to change the textures to christmas lights. But I spose learning glide is a bit useless anyway, 3dfx is almost dead…

a) OOP stands for Object Oriented Programming. That’s what you (try) to do when you use classes in C++

b) GLU is a set of OpenGL utility functions to make using OpenGL easie. It handles perspective projection setup, curves and other assorted stuff.