SkyBoxes and stuff

Anyone have any idea how I can make a skybox, or even have a background image like in doom? I dont want to have to make a massize texturemapped quad, im looking for a pretty fast method.

thanks

Well, the massive textured quad (cube actually) is probably the fastest way.

i’m not an expert, but i think that it’s possible to draw a dome instead of a box,
but i don’t think it will be faster…

the draw of a big square is as slow as that?

marsu

Dont you incure penalties for drawing a massize cube and texturing it? cant i just turn off depth testing, and draw a +z facing quad the size of the viewport, just -1z into the screen, then turn on depth testing and draw the scene?

Yes you can, but only if you want the background to be static and not a 360 degree skybox. Of course you could adjust the texture coordinates to simulate motion, but that creates problems of its own. When drawing the cube, you’d only be drawing no more than 3 sides. And if you draw it last with depth testing turned on, you would not even be updating all of the pixels.

[This message has been edited by DFrey (edited 09-02-2001).]

the fact that most FPS games quake/UT etc use a skybox generally means it prolly is the best method. it certainly is the simplist (which is good)

also what DFrey said is a good point, u may of heard before draw the skybox first to wipe the depthbuffer (ie u dont need to clear it, most games do it ths way quake etc)
but ive found its best to clear the depth/colour/buffer draw the scene and then draw the background last.
filling the whole screen with a texture is far slower than clearing the buffers esp now when cards are becoming optimized for fast clears.

though this of course depends on what your scene looks like eg if a lot of the skybox is showing then the first method might be the best.

hi

i also want to do a sky"box" and was actually thinking about a dome.