Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Thread: Structure that stores vertices, faces and edges

Intern Contributor

Structure that stores vertices, faces and edges

Hi...

could you explain to me how to implement and use a structure that stores vertices, faces and edges please?

Many thanks...

Nicolas

Intern Contributor

Re: Structure that stores vertices, faces and edges

I'm just a beginner, but why not use vertex arrays or interleaved arrays? Their in the RedBook.

Intern Contributor

It may not be convenient enough unfortunately... that is what I started to do but you need to be able to identify each edge individually...

Member Regular Contributor

I've seen a few postings now from you and I'm quite interested in exactly what you're trying to do. If you could give me an idea as to what it is, I may be able to help you out.

Intern Contributor

Cool...

Here's what I'm trying to do...

I want to implement a non-photorealistic renderer... I'd like to draw lines that communicate shapes at best, that is to say silhouettes, surface discontinuities (sharp edges and folds) and surface boundaries.. I know all the theory about it but I need to implement it in programming now...

My algorithms are the following:

Silhouettes:

Detect and draw the edges that are shared between one front-facing polygon and one back-facing polygon by comparing the normals of the adjacent faces of these edges...

sharp edges:

Detect and draw the edges that are shared between two faces which form an angle superior to a threshold by comparing the normals of the adjacent faces of these edges...

AND I NEED SOME HELP...

the main thing for me is to create a structure that stores some information on the edges and their adjacent faces... because I know how to do the rest (compare normals) but I don't know how to use a structure that can help me to code my algorithms...