2D pictures

I am having a lot of trouble getting .bmp files to show up as regular pictures (not textures). I have a function that loads the .bmp file, which I have tested, and it works fine. But when I display the pixmap, nothing ever shows. Here’s my code for drawing the bitmap…

void Draw2d::drawBitmap( unsigned int id, int x, int y )
{
glRasterPos2i( x, y );

glPixelStorei( GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT, 1 );

glPixelZoom(1.0f, 1.0f);

glDrawPixels( bitmaps[id].width, bitmaps[id].height, GL_BGR_EXT, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, bitmaps[id].data );

}

bitmaps[id] is the class that holds the bitmap data. I only am using id = 0 right now, and x and y are both 100. All the data in the bitmaps[0] class is the way it should be. The bitmaps[0].data is directly taken from a Windows bitmap file 24-bit, the width and height fields are both 64. I am just learning how to setup pictures, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I know that the renderer itself works, because i have 3d objects already in the scene. Thanks!

Are you sure that x= 100 and y =100 is on your screen?

If you use gluPerspective and have a FOV of let’s say 60 degrees and a zNear of 1.0 and a ration of 1, your screen is :

left = -1.73, right =1.73, top = 1.73, bottom = -1.73

I see your point, but when I use glRasterPos2i( x, y ), don’t x and y have to be integers? Do I use screen coordinates or world coordinates? I have tried x=0, and y=0 as well but have not had success.

glRasterPos2i is the integer version, but you can use the float version for more precision glRasterPos2f, you can also use glRasterPos3* to set the z coordinates.

It is in world coordinate, so it is transformed like any other vertex.

But I know what the problem is now(apart that 100X100 is still out of the screen but we will fix that):